Surgery Residency



SEMC Surgery Residency GraduatesThe general surgery residency program at St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center is a fully accredited surgical training program leading to eligibility for certification by the American Board of Surgery. The program offers residents a diversified experience in a wide range of surgical disciplines. All of the services, despite busy clinical and teaching schedules, are involved in developing a number of new and innovative procedures. We seek to attract men and women who are both committed to excellence in patient care and who will maintain a lifelong intellectual curiosity. Each year, seven interns are accepted through the ERAS application process. Three categorical residents are accepted into the general surgery with the understanding that they will be promoted each year if they continue to demonstrate excellence in the clinical and academic areas. Other residents are accepted into the preliminary program for one year of training in general surgery prior to beginning advanced training in the surgical sub-specialties. Decisions are based on an applicant's scholastic record, USMLE scores, letters of recommendation and a personal interview. We would like to see applicants have both step scores of 215 or higher and passed everything on the first attempt including step 2 CS. We would prefer applicants that have graduated within the last five years from medical school.

Salary & Benefits


Salary rates for July 1, 2023
PGY Level Annually Salary Hourly
1 $67,959.65 32.67
2 $72,069.24 34.64
3 $74,709.58 35.91
4 $78,061.64 37.52
5 $82,974.92 39.89







Total four weeks of vacation per year.

Three weeks of paid vacation and one week for personal days.

There are also 12 sick days a year.

Meet the Director

The Department of Surgery is committed to providing categorical surgical residents the best possible training for their chosen career.

Learn More


All residents rotate through the general surgical sections and the surgical intensive care units in addition to the surgical sub-specialties.

Learn More


View a list of our current residents.

Learn More


View a list of our graduates.

Learn More


  • Number of Operative Cases Logged: Avg 1100 cases at the end of 5th year for the past 10 graduating classes (2013-2023)
  • Program Board Pass Rate: 2020-2022 - 100 % on both QE and CE

Interview invitations will be extended by e-mail only. Interviews start in November and end in January. Once candidates have confirmed their interview date, they will be emailed a packet of information, consisting of an itinerary for the interview, & information about the program. If you have any questions or would like to check the status of your application, please call 617-789-2990.

License Requirements

Physicians (both U.S. and International) applying for an initial limited license will be required to pass USMLE Step 1 and Step 2, CK and CS, or the first two levels of COMLEX or complete all parts of MCCQE

Exchange Visitor J-1, Required for all International applicants

The foreign national physician must pass Step 1 and Step 2 Clinical Knowledge (CK) of the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE), or an examination determined to be equivalent to the NBME by the Secretary of the US Department of Health and Human Services. In addition, the foreign national physician must hold a valid Standard ECFMG certificate; have a contract with an ACGME-accredited program at St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center, provide a written statement from the Ministry of Health in the country of most recent legal permanent residence that attest to the need for physicians trained in the exchange visitor’s specialty and that verifies that the exchange visitor has filed written assurance that he/she will return to the county upon completion of training. The duration of participation for the exchange visitor at St. Elizabeth's Medical Center is for the time required to meet the educational requirements for certification by an American specialty board that has been recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties. Duration of participation is further limited to a maximum of seven years.