August 22, 2019

St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center Awards $30,000 in Scholarships to Allston-Brighton Residents Pursuing Careers in Health Care

Brighton, MA - St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center awarded six $5,000 scholarships, $30,000 in total, to residents of Allston and Brighton who are enrolled in a college or graduate degree program in health care. On Tuesday, Aug. 20, St. Elizabeth’s presented scholarships to Northeastern University student Lance Dorgan of Allston, Fairfield University student Alyson DeRosa of Brighton, University of Michigan Medical School student Alannah O’Brien of Brighton, Emmanuel College student Ann O’Shea of Brighton, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences student Silvia Alejandra Prado of Brighton, and Simmons College student Shoshana Rivka Shanske of Brighton.

St. Elizabeth’s scholarship program, which is celebrating its 10th year, is a partnership between St. Elizabeth’s Community Benefits Task Force and the Allston-Brighton Community. To date, St. Elizabeth’s has awarded 30 $5,000 scholarships totaling $150,000.

“As the community hospital of Allston-Brighton, St. Elizabeth’s is thrilled to have the opportunity to strengthen the health care workforce by fostering this year’s scholarship winners, and the winners from years past,” said Harrison Bane, president of St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center. “We are proud of each of these six talented recipients who are our future healers, hospital administrators, researchers, bedside nurses, and community leaders.”

During the scholarship presentation, State Representative Kevin Honan and Stefan Poltorzycki representing Boston City Councilor Mark Ciommo’s office provided proclamations and issued citations. Massachusetts State Senator Will Brownsberger, members of the St. Elizabeth’s Community Benefits Task Force, St. Elizabeth’s Senior Leadership, and the scholarship recipients’ families also attended the presentation.

Photo (L to R): State Representative Kevin Honan, Administrative Coordinator, BCYF/Jackson Mann Community Center and St. Elizabeth’s Community Benefits Task Force Member Rosie Hanlon, St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center President Harrison Bane, Scholarship Recipient Silvia Alejandra Prado, Scholarship Recipient Alyson DeRosa, Scholarship Recipient Shoshana Rivka Shanske, Massachusetts State Senator Will Brownsberger, and Stefan Poltorzycki from Boston City Councilor Mark Ciommo’s office.